Nominations for Prof. Kiyonari Inamura Memorial AFOMP Oration, 2018

Asia-Oceania Federation of Organizations for Medical Physics

To recognize and appreciate the outstanding contributions of medical physicists from the AFOMP region, an oration award in the name of Kiyonari Inamura is proposed. Prof Kiyonari Inamura was one of the founders of, and contributed significantly to the sustained development of, AFOMP. He served AFOMP at different capacities over the years. He was Professor Emeritus at Osaka University and a longstanding member of the CARS Congress Organizing Committee and Deputy Editor of IJCARS. His pioneering contributions to medical physics and medical engineering include research and development in radiotherapy treatment planning systems, picture archiving and communication systems. It was always on the forefront of his ideology to educate and motivate the students to advance their understanding of medical physics. His efforts in advancing interdisciplinary and international cooperation is without parallel and, his way of leading by example, have been of great benefit not only to the medical physicist community of AFOMP, but also to the rest of the world.

Guidelines for the Award of the Prof Kiyonari Inamura AFOMP Oration

  1. The Secretary General, of AFOMP shall invite nominations for the Prof Kiyonari Inamura Memorial AFOMP Oration each year six months before the AOCMP Congress.
  2. Nominations shall be made on the official form and shall be accompanied by the nominee’s CV.
  3. Any member of an AFOMP national member organization may nominate a candidate for the Oration Award.
  4. A candidate may self-nominate himself/herself. In this case the signature of one sponsor is needed. The sponsor must be a member of an AFOMP national member organization have worked in the AFOMP region for at least last 5 years.
  5. Only a bona fide member of an AFOMP national member organization is eligible for the Award. An awardee should not be less than 45 years of age on 1st January of the year the oration is being given.
  6. The awardee should have at least 20 years of experience in medical physics since obtaining a degree or diploma in medical physics or a relevant subject.
  7. The awardee should have worked as a medical physicist in the AFOMP region for the last 15 years at least.
  8. The candidate should have at least 15 national or international publications in peer-reviewed journals. Achievements in the field of medical physics (nationally or internationally), and contributions to the cause of medical physics would also be given due weight.
  9. The Oration Committee will select the successful nominee. The Committee shall comprise of the President, the Vice-President, the Secretary General, the Past President, the immediate past Secretary General and two senior members of the AOCMP organizing committee. In addition, the President, the Vice-President and the Secretary General may co-opt up to two distinguished AFOMP members to the Oration Committee. However, this co-option should be done before inviting nominations for the award.
  10. The Oration Committee shall select the awardee by a 2/3 majority email vote. The Secretary General will coordinate the selection and keep all records. He/she will ensure the eligibility of all the candidates and sponsors. The Oration Committee members shall give attention to (i) the candidate’s age and experience, (ii) the number of papers published in journals by the candidates, and (iii) the candidate’s achievements/contribution to the cause of medical physics (weight to be given in the same order) in making their selection. In any controversy, the decision of the President, AFOMP shall be final and binding.
  11. Ideally, no Oration Committee member should be a candidate for the oration. Should any member of the Oration Selection Committee be a candidate for oration, he/she will refrain from taking part in the voting process.

Please download the announcement of AFOMP, 2018 Oration Nomination for Nomination Form and other details.

The last date of receipt for Application Form and CV is July 15, 2018.