Welcome to AFOMP website

Aims & Objectives of AFOMP are:

  1. To promote the co-operation and communication between medical physics organizations in the region
  2. To promote medical physics and related activities in the region
  3. To promote the advancement in status and standard of practice of the medical physics profession
  4. To organize and/or sponsor international conferences, regional and other meetings of courses
  5. To collaborate or affiliate with other scientific organizations

AFOMP Presidential Message

Dr. Tae Suk Su, President, AFOMP
Dr. Tae Suk Su, President, AFOMP

I am pleased to greet all of medical physicists in Asia-Pacific regions as a President of the Asia–Oceania Federation of Organization for Medical Physics (AFOMP). I would also like to thank AFOMP members for making great efforts in the field of medical physics.

It is my great pleasure to extend my congratulations to Prof. Arun Chougule and his team for the successful development of new AFOMP website. It is also my pleasure and honor to deliver the message as AFOMP President through new AFOMP website.

Recently, many activities have been accomplished by AFOMP. One major activity was to hold the 17th Asia–Oceania Congress of Medical Physics (AOCMP) which was held in Jaipur, India during Nov. 4-7, 2017, which was very successful. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Prof. Arun Chougule, the Organizing Chair of AOCMP 2017 and AMPI for coordinating this wonderful Congress. Furthermore, I express my sincere gratitude to all members of the federation for making this congress possible. Prof. Howell Round and AFOMP PDC have developed the AFOMP Code of Ethics. AFOMP newsletter was published two times per year. The AFOMP website has been newly developed by a professional company and is ready for use. The Physica Medica (European Journal of Medical Physics; official journal of EFOMP) published the Focus Issue of the Asia-Oceania Congress on Medical Physics (AOCMP 2015 & 2016). The Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) that Middle East Federation of Organization of Medical Physics (MEFOMP) become members of AFOMP was approved in AFOMP Council Meeting, and the MoU was finally signed by both Presidents of AFOMP and MEFOMP on December 12, 2017. Lastly, AFOMP had many activities in collaboration with international bodies such as IOMP, IAEA, WHO, etc.

The role and status of medical physicists in the AFOMP continue to gain increasing recognition in scientific societies. The AFOMP will strive to build a strong relationship among sub-regional organizations in the Asia-Oceania region.

The 18th Asia-Oceania Congress of Medical Physics (AOCMP) will be held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from 11 to 14 November 2018, in conjunction with the 16th South-East Asia Congress of Medical Physics (SEACOMP). I hope all of you can join this meeting and make your great contribution to the medical physics community this November.

Tae Suk Suh
President, AFOMP

Message from the Secretary General

Dr. Howell Round, Secretary General, AFOMP
Dr. Howell Round, Secretary General, AFOMP

Since its inception, AFOMP has worked to further medical physics in the Asia-Oceania region by establishing an annual conference, developing policies, specifying international journals as being AFOMP journals, establishing various forms of membership and engaging in other relevant activities. It is a regional member of the International Organization for Medical Physics and cooperates with other regional members- the South East Asian Federation of Organizations for Medical Physics and the Middle Eastern Federation of Organizations for Medical Physics in mounting joint conferences. It will continue to work for medical physics in its region by promoting sound clinical practice, education and research in this discipline.

Dr. Howell Round,
Secretary General, AFOMP